Research Group “Accommodation and Social Categorization”

The phenomenon of accommodation, also known as convergence, entrainment, alignment, synchronisation, mimicry (depending upon the disciplines), is referred to the tendency of speakers to adapt their verbal and non-verbal behaviour to that of another speaker during an interaction or after increased exposure to a talking partner. Speakers can accommodate to their interlocutors, either by becoming more similar (convergence) or by accentuating individual differences (divergence).
Evidence of accommodation in speech tasks with varying degree of spontaneity (e.g. shadowing / map / diapix tasks, spontaneous interactions between two interlocutors, multi-party conversations), has been observed at the level of the lexicon, grammar, pronunciation, facial expressions and body movements. Accommodation happens not only in spoken but also in written interactions, and evidence of convergence has been documented between non-human primates as well as in (uni-)bidirectional human-machine interactions.
With respect to vocal accommodation, despite the extensive amount of research, it is still highly controversial whether accommodation can be accounted for by a low-level automated mechanism, based on the link between perception and production, or by other factors, such as mutual liking, phonetic distance between speakers, conversational dynamics, or by a combination thereof. By now, equally arguable is the selection of which segmental and suprasegmental feature researchers should measure to study accommodation, given the extreme variability in convergence between speakers and across measures.
Currently the group investigates the complex phenomenon of linguistic and vocal accommodation with respect to four main domains, transversally related to the research themes Language in Space and Language through Space:
1. accommodation in a dialect contact situation;
2. developmental aspects of accommodation;
3. vocal accommodation in humans and computer;
4. agreement and code-mixing in bi- and multilingual environment.
Taken together, these research aim to advance the understanding of the hard-to-catch phenomenon of accommodation. By comparing instances of accommodation in human-human and human-computer accommodation, and combining linguistics, acoustic, articulatory and perception data, the group aims to shed light on:
a) mechanisms and functions leading to linguistic and phonetic convergence;
b) contribution of accommodation to language variation and change;
c) implications of vocal accommodation in human and machine speaker identification.
In addition to the UZH participating researchers, the group conducts the research on vocal and linguistic accommodation in collaboration with a multidisciplinary research network comprising, among others, Bern Möbius (Saarland University, DE) and Gabriel Skantze (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, SE) for the area of human-machine interactions, Jennifer Pardo (Montclaire State University, USA) for human speech communication; Thayabaran Kathiresan (Centre for Forensic Phonetics and Acoustics - University of Zurich, CH), Andrea Fröhlich (Forensiches Institut Zürich, CH) and Anil Alexander (Oxford Wave Research, UK) for the implications of accommodation for speaker recognition and forensic speaker comparisons.

Forschungsgruppe "Akkommodation und soziale Kategorisierung"

Das Phänomen Akkommodation bezieht sich auf die Tendenz der Sprechenden, ihr verbales und nonverbales Verhalten an das einer anderen Person anzupassen, sei es während einer Interaktion oder wegen erhöhtem Einfluss eines Gegenübers. Sprechende können sich ihren Gesprächspartnern anpassen, entweder indem sie sich ihnen annähern (Konvergenz) oder indem sie individuelle Unterschiede betonen (Divergenz).
In Sprachaufgaben mit unterschiedlichem Mass an Spontaneität (z.B. Shadowing / Map / Diapix Aufgaben, spontane Interaktionen zwischen zwei Gesprächspartnern, Mehrparteiengespräche) wurden auf den Ebenen Wortschatz, Grammatik, Aussprache, Mimik und Körperbewegungen Nachweise von Akkommodation beobachtet. Akkommodation findet nicht nur in gesprochenen, sondern auch in schriftlichen Interaktionen statt, und es gibt dokumentierte Hinweise auf Konvergenz zwischen nicht-menschlichen Primaten sowie in (uni-)bidirektionalen Mensch-Maschine-Interaktionen.
In Bezug auf sprachbasierte Akkommodation ist es trotz umfangreicher Forschung sehr umstritten, ob die Akkommodation durch einen schwachen automatisierten Mechanismus erklärt werden kann, der auf einer Verbindung zwischen Wahrnehmung und Erzeugung basiert, oder durch andere Faktoren wie gegenseitige Sympathie, phonetische Distanz zwischen den Sprechern, Gesprächsdynamiken oder eine Kombination davon. Inzwischen ist ebenso umstritten, welche segmentalen und suprasegmentalen Merkmale Forscher für die Untersuchung von Akkommodation ermitteln sollten, da die Konvergenz zwischen den Rednern und zwischen den einzelnen Messungen stark variiert.
Derzeit untersucht die Forschungsgruppe das komplexe Phänomen der linguistischen und sprachlichen Akkommodation in Bezug auf vier Hauptbereiche, die thematisch mit den Forschungsthemen Sprache im Raum und Sprache durch Raum 
verknüpft sind:
1. Akkommodation in einer Dialektkontakt-Situation;
2. Entwicklungsaspekte der Akkommodation;
3. Sprachliche Akkommodation bei Menschen und Computer;
4. Kongruenz und Code-Mixing im zwei- und mehrsprachigen Umfeld.
Zusammenfassend zielen diese Forschungsarbeiten darauf ab, das Wissen über die komplexe Akkommodation zu erweitern. Durch den Vergleich von Fällen bei Mensch-Mensch und Mensch-Computer Akkommodation und die Kombination von linguistischen, akustischen, artikulatorischen und Wahrnehmungsbasierten Daten will die Forschungsgruppe Aufschluss geben über:
a) Mechanismen und Funktionen, die zu linguistischer und phonetischer Konvergenz führen;
b) den Beitrag der Akkommodation zu Sprachvariation und Sprachwandel;
c) Auswirkungen der sprachlichen Akkomodation auf die Identifizierung von menschlichen und maschinellen Sprechertypen.
Neben den beteiligten Forschern der UZH führt die Forschungsgruppe die Projekte zur sprachlichen und linguistischen Akkommodation in Zusammenarbeit mit einem multidisziplinären Forschungsnetzwerk durch, unter anderem mit Bern Möbius (Universität des Saarlandes, DE) und Gabriel Skantze (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, SE) im Bereich der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion; Jennifer Pardo (Montclair State University, USA) im Bereich der menschlichen Kommunikation; Thayabaran Kathiresan (Zentrum für forensische Phonetik und Akustik - Universität Zürich, CH), Andrea Fröhlich (Forensisches Institut Zürich, CH) und Anil Alexander (Oxford Wave Research, UK) für die Untersuchung der Auswirkungen der Akkommodation auf die Sprechererkennung und forensische Sprechervergleiche.