Laboratories

Since July 2013, three linguistic laboratories have been established:

  • The corpuslinguistic laboratory (CorpusLab) serves towards the development and adaptation of methods and resources for the analysis of linguistic phenomena in corpora. The focus is thereby set on the advancement of corpus technology as well as on the storage, processing and analysis of extensive digital data (of both research groups). The CorpusLab is a research institution which also offers services pertaining to development, analysis and archiving of corpora at UZH.
  • Major research questions of the GISLab are “How can linguistic features, such as diversity, be explained through geographic characteristics?” and “How can geographic information in language be extracted and used to contribute to geographic research questions?” From a methodological perspective, the GISLab is a laboratory for quantitative methods and is mainly concerned with cartographic processing and geostatistical analysis and modelling of linguistic data by the means of geographic information systems (GIScience).
  • The videoanalytical laboratory (VideoLab) is mainly responsible for the collection, processing and analysis of audio-visual recordings of face-to-face interaction in the research group "Interactional Spaces".

These three laboratories are headed by research associates.

Laboratorien

Seit Juli 2013 werden drei linguistische Laboratorien aufgebaut:

  • Die zentralen Forschungsfragen des GISLab sind "Wie können linguistische Eigenschaften, wie beispielsweise die linguistische Diversität, unter Zuhilfenahme von geographischer Information und räumlicher Analyse besser verstanden werden?" und "Wie kann räumliche Information, die in Sprachdaten implizit vorkommt, für die Beantwortung von geographischen Fragestellungen genutzt werden?" Aus methodischer Sicht ist das GISLab ein Laboratorium der quantitativen Methoden, das sich primär mit der Prozessierung kartographischer Darstellungen und mit geostatistischer Analyse und Modellierung, angewendet auf linguistische Daten, beschäftigt.
  • Das korpuslinguistische Laboratorium (KorpusLab) dient der Entwicklung und Adaption von Methoden und Ressourcen für die Untersuchung sprachlicher Phänomene in Korpora. Die Weiterentwicklung der Korpustechnologie steht dabei neben der Speicherung, Aufbereitung und Analyse umfangreicher digitaler Daten (beider Forschungsgruppen) im Vordergrund. Das KorpusLab ist eine Forschungseinrichtung, die auch Dienstleistungen bei der Entwicklung, Analyse oder Archivierung von Korpora im UFSP bietet.
  • Das videoanalytische Laboratorium (VideoLab) ist vor allem für die Erhebung, Aufbereitung und Analyse audiovisueller Aufzeichnungen von face-to-face Interaktion in der Forschungsgruppe "Interaktionsräume" zuständig.

Diese drei Laboratorien werden jeweils von wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern geleitet.