Mission

The scientific objective of the URPP Language and Space covers three areas: constitution of research groups (i), development of linguistic research laboratories (ii) and initiation of concrete research projects (iii).

(i) Constitution of research groups dedicated to two particularly relevant fields of language-space-intersections. These fields are linguistic areas and interactional spaces. Related to both of these fields there exist focused research groups from which research projects and publications emerge.

(ii) Development of linguistic research laboratories for the advancement of methodology and technology in language-space-research. Additionally to the already existing linguistic laboratories at UZH (Phonetic Laboratory and Psycholinguistics Laboratory), three further labs were set up: a corpuslinguistic laboratory (CorpusLab), an interdisciplinary laboratory conceived in coordination with colleagues from the Department of Geography (GISLab) and a videoanalytical laboratory (VideoLab).

(iii) Initiation of research projects within the two fields of interest (linguistic areas and interactional spaces). During the first funding period (2013-2016) several PhD and postdoc projects have been started. Additional doctoral positions were created by means of co-financing. One of the core responsibilities of the research groups is the preparation and supervision of these sub-projects. In doing so, they will support the advancement of young researchers.

Ziele

Die wissenschaftliche Zielsetzung des UFSP Sprache und Raum erstreckt sich auf drei Bereiche: die Konstitution von Forschungsgruppen (i), den Aufbau von linguistischer Forschungsinfrastruktur (Lab) (ii) und die Lancierung konkreter Forschungsprojekte (iii).

(i) Konstitution von Forschungsgruppen in zwei besonders relevanten Sprache-Raum-Schnittstellen. Diese betreffen die Bereiche "Sprachräume" und "Interaktionsräume". Zu beiden Schnittstellen existieren fokussierte Forschungsgruppen, aus denen die UFSP-Publikationen hervorgehen.

(ii) Aufbau linguistischer Forschungsinfrastruktur zur Weiterentwicklung der Methodologie und Technologie der Sprache-Raum-Forschung. Ergänzend zu den bereits bestehenden linguistischen Laboratorien an der UZH (Phonetisches Laboratorium und Psycholinguistisches Laboratorium) wurden im Sprache & Raum Laboratorium drei weitere Einheiten linguistischer Infrastruktur aufgebaut: eine korpuslinguistische Einheit (Text), eine interdisziplinär mit Kollegen aus dem Geographischen Institut konzipierte Einheit (GIS), und eine videoanalytische Einheit (Video).

(iii) Initiierung von Forschungsprojekten innerhalb der ausgewählten Schnittstellen. Konkrete Teilprojekte sind in der ersten Förderphase (2013-2016) gestartet. Über Ko-Finanzierungsangebote werden zusätzliche Doktorandenstellen geschaffen. Es ist eine wesentliche Aufgabe der Forschungsgruppen, diese Teilprojekte vorzubereiten und damit auch den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs zu fördern. Jede Forschungsgruppe betreut ein Projektcluster, das geeignet ist, die gemeinsamen Forschungsinteressen der Forschungsgruppenmitglieder zu bündeln.